Book Awards - UPDATED!!!

Ladybug Picture Book Award ladybug picture awards

This New Hampshire book award enables young children to choose a favorite picture book from the group of ten titles selected by NH librarians each year. We read these stories throughout the fall during Storyhour. All 10 books are kept on reserve so they are available for reading in the library until the votes are tallied. During the week before Thanksgiving the library children under 3rd grade get to vote with stickers on the giant poster ballots in the children’s room. The totals from Epping get added in with all the other participating libraries in the state to decide the winner. The 2013 contest produced a landslide victory for Little Dog Lost: The True Story of a Brave Dog Named Baltic by Monica Carnesi which earned 5,347 votes of the 22,000 cast. Look for winners from previous years by finding the ladybug sticker on their spines in the picture book section of the library or click here to see the list of past winners.


Great Stone Face AwardGreat Stone Face Award

The Great Stone Face Book Award is sponsored by the Children's Librarians of New Hampshire and is given each year to an author whose book receives the most votes from fourth through sixth graders throughout the state. Each year a committee chooses 25 recently published titles, which children then use as a guide for voting. The vote takes place every April during National Library Week, and the winner is announced in May. The purpose of the award is to promote reading enjoyment, to increase awareness of contemporary writing, and to allow children to honor their favorite author.  The 2013 winner was Wonder by Lincoln Peirce. This year's nominees are available by the Great Stone Face poster in the Juvenile Fiction section of the children's room collection. Click here to see the list of past winners.


Caldecott Medal

Caldecott MedalThe Caldecott Medal was established in 1937 to be given to the artist who had created the most distinguished picture book of the year and named in honor of the nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph J. Caldecott. The Caldecott Medal "shall be awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American Picture Book for Children published in the United States during the preceding year. The award shall go to the artist, who must be a citizen or resident of the United States, whether or not he be the author of the text. The recepient of the award in 2014 is Locomotive written and illustrated by Brian Floca. 

  Click here to see a list of all Caldecott winners and honor books.


Newbery Medal

Newbery MedalCreated in 1922, the Newbery Medal is awarded by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's books published the previous year. The purpose of the Newbery Medal was stated as follows: "To encourage original creative work in the field of books for children. To emphasize to the public that contributions to the literature for children deserve similar recognition to poetry, plays, or novels. To give those librarians, who make it their life work to serve children's reading interests, an opportunity to encourage good writing in this field."

The Newbery Award thus became the first children's book award in the world. Its terms, as well as its long history, continue to make it the best known and most discussed children's book award in this country. The winner for 2013 was Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures written by Kate DiCamillo .  Click here to see a list of all Newbery Medal winners and honor books .